Wednesday, 13 April 2011

Book review by Renee Nielsen of Room 2

Warriors: Power of Three: The Sight (Book One of the Power of Three series)
(Also know as Warrior Cats)
By Erin Hunter.

There will be Three, kin of your kin, who will hold the power of the stars in their paws...

Firestar, leader of ThunderClan, received a prophecy long ago, and now he realises that the time must have come. Jaykit, Hollykit and Lionkit, born to Firestar's daughter, Squirrelflight, and ThunderClan's deputy, Brambleclaw, have gotten themselves into trouble by taking themselves on a dangerous adventure, thinking that they can protect their Clan by driving away intruding fox cubs that had settled in their territory. By doing this however, Lionkit and Hollykit nearly lose their brother when Jaykit, blind and chased by an angry fox cub, falls over the edge of the hollow, coming close to death. They get a fair scolding from Firestar and their parents, but they still become apprentices, Hollykit deciding to become an apprentice medicine cat. As time goes on, Jaykit, now Jaypaw, and Hollykit, now named Hollypaw, soon begin to feel uncomfortable with their future position in the clan, and after a few happenings, they choose a different path, Jaypaw becoming a medicine cat instead. As they train, Leafpool, Jaypaw's mentor, notices that he has a power no other cat has- and Jaypaw finds out something that could change the Clans' lives forever.
Many hidden secrets begin to unravel as the Power of Three series continues, and it seems there is more than just one cat in the clan who has something to hide.
The entire Warriors series is full of adventure, friendship, action and secrets, creating a can't-put-down-this-book atmosphere. Currently, there are four Warriors series in total, The Original Series, The New Prophecy, Power of Three, and Omen of the Stars, with six books per series. There are four books in the Omen of the Stars series that have been published, with a further two action-packed books yet to be finished.

Warrior cats is a great series for cat-lovers, and for those who like an exciting adventure to read about. I rate the series 10/10. My favourite novel series!

No comments:

Post a Comment